The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women)

The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women, also known as UN Women, is a United Nations committee dealing with the empowerment of women and the improvement of living conditions for women. UN Women is empowered to support three main areas. The first area is intergovernmental bodies, such as the Commission on the Status of Women, in their formulation of policies, global standards, and norms. The second area of focus is to help UN member states implement the above standards, standing ready to provide suitable technical and financial support to those countries that request it and to forge effective partnerships with civil society. The third and final area of focus is to enable member states to hold the UN system accountable for its own commitments on gender equality, including regular monitoring of system-wide progress.



  1. Promoting the presence of women in science, politics and other male-dominated branches
  2. Measures to end violence against women
  3. Strengthening the economic independence of women and promoting the equal distribution of incomes


  1. Afghanistan
  2. Argentina
  3. Australia
  4. Chad
  5. Chile
  6. Democratic Republic of Congo
  7. DPRK
  8. Ethiopia
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Guatemala
  12. Iceland
  13. Iraq
  14. Mali
  15. Morocco
  16. Nepal
  17. The Netherlands
  18. Niger
  19. Norway
  20. Pakistan
  21. People's Republic of China
  22. Russia
  23. Saudi Arabia
  24. Turkey
  25. United Kingdom
  26. United States
  27. Yemen